Education Council Meeting Agenda February 28, 2025 10:00 am – 2:00pm Kaltura <u>https://cap1-smart.newrow.com/#/room/ft44cap</u>

Coast Mountain College serves six First Nations in Northwest British Columbia: Haida, Ts'msyen (Tsimshian), Nisga'a, Haisla, Git<u>x</u>san and Wet'suwet'en and acknowledges the traditional territories its campuses reside on.

We also collaborate with our close neighbors in the Tahltan Nation.

Call to order and declaration of Quorum: (1 minute)

Approval of the Agenda and all items on Consent Agenda (2 minutes)	EC.25.08
For Approval: EdCo Agenda	
Approval of Minutes from January 31, 2025 (2 minutes)	EC.25.09
For Approval: EdCo Minutes	
CONSENT AGENDA	EC.25.10
ACTION AGENDA	EC.25.11
U1AEES: Applied Earth & Environmental Studies Certificate – Reto Riesen (10 minutes) Motion: To approve the U1AEES as presented.	EC25.11.01
First: ACC Second:	
NCBNP: Northern Collaborative Baccalaureate Nursing Two-strike Rule – Helen Hamel (15 minutes)	EC.25.11.02
 Motion: To remove HHSC courses from Academic Performance Policy. First: Helen Hamel Second: 	
DISCUSSION AGENDA	EC.25.12
Land Acknowledgement and Efforts of Reconciliation	EC.25.12.01
Coast Mountain College serves six First Nations in Northwest British Columbia: Haida, Ts'msyen (Tsimshian), Nisga'a, Haisla, Git <u>x</u> san and Wet'suwet'en and acknowledges the traditional territories its campuses reside on.	
We also collaborate with our close neighbors in the Tahltan Nation.	
Indigenization of Curriculum – Kāshā JMorris (20 minutes)	EC.25.12.02
EdCo Voting Bylaws – Appendix C – Membership Rotation Odd years: • one support staff elected by the Support Staff	EC.25.12.03
• one faculty from the Business and First Nations Fine Arts Cluster	

 one faculty from the Trades and Workforce Training Cluster one faculty from Teaching and Learning Support Cluster one faculty from the Developmental Cluster one faculty from University Credit and Applied Coastal Ecology Cluster Appointed each year: four educational administrators appointed by the President one Indigenous Scholar faculty recommended by faculty in consultation with the Indigenization department then appointed by the President one non-voting, advisory member appointed by the Board of Governors one non-voting, advisory member appointed by the First Nations Council EdCo Voting - Chair & Vice Chair Bylaws - https://www.coastmountaincollege.ca/docs/default-source/edco/edco_bylaws.pdf	EC.25.12.04
 voting members of EdCo at their first annual meeting to be held in April of each year. 3.2.2 The Chair and Vice Chair cannot serve more than three consecutive terms. 3.2.3 The election of the officers will be by secret ballot. 3.2.4 Should a vacancy occur in the seat of Chair and/or Vice Chair, a new Chair/Vice Chair will be elected at the next scheduled meeting. 3.2.5 In the absence of the Chair, the Vice Chair acts as Chair of the meeting 	
REPORTS	EC.25.13
 CIM Review Task Force – Emily Suderman FNC – Priscilla Michell Educational Practice – Tracey Woodburn Educational Planning and Program Review – Tracey Woodburn EPC – Emily Suderman IEC – Colin Elliott Curriculum Renewal and Re-articulation of Courses UC/ACE – Reto Riesen/Catharine White Developmental – Melanie Pollard Human Services – Marja Burrows Health – Callan Williamson Business/FNFA – Chris Try/Nakkita Trimble Trades/WTCS – Linnea Waechter LAS – Jon Stone 	EC.25.13.01
Motion to adjourn: Next Meeting: March 28, 2025	EC.25.14

Additional Links and Information:

Education Council Bylaws - 2022 College and Institute Act Meeting Schedule

<u>Acronyms</u>

- ACC = Articulation and Curriculum Committee
- CIM = Curriculum Information Management
- FNC = First Nations Council
- EPC = Education Policy Committee
- TOR = Terms of Reference